Family sermon 1 Thessalonians 5.1-11

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.

A nice saying but not always true.

Even as adults most of us will be able to remember an occasion when someone said something mean to us, or about us

Words are really important, they can make us feel really good, or they can make us feel really bad.

I have a hat of words here and I want to see how you’d feel if someone said them to you.

  • Looking good
  • bad girl
  • good job
  • fatty
  • i want to be like you
  • loser

Words can make us feel good, or bad, and so it’s really important for us to think carefully before we say

In our reading, we heard a few words about how God wants us to be, and especially how he wants us to behave to each other.

It said we need to put on faith and love and we need to encourage one another, and build each other up.

I looked up what encourage meant in the dictionary. Although I think I knew what it means, sometimes looking things up can give us a better understanding.

And the dictionary said encourage ,Rams to give courage, and to give support and help.

And I think that idea is important, that we are to help other people become confident and courageous in what they are doing.

Sometimes it’s telling someone they have done a good job that encourages them. Or that the look really good, or praising something someone has done. It’s important to share these things.

Words are important, but so are actions.

But often, we’re encouraged, and we’re given courage by looking at what others do and taking our example from them.

There is a poem that I want to read for you about a child learning and taking their example from their parent. And so many of these could learn from ourselves.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I saw you hang my first painting on the refrigerator,
and I wanted to paint another one.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I saw you feed a stray cat,
and I thought it was good to be kind to animals.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I saw you make my favorite cake for me,
and I knew that little things are special things.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I heard you say a prayer,
and I believed that there was a God to talk to.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I felt you kiss me goodnight,
and I felt loved.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I saw tears come from your eyes,
and I learned that sometimes things hurt,
but it’s alright to cry.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I saw that you cared,
and I wanted to be everything that I could be.

When you thought I wasn’t looking,
I looked….
and I wanted to say thanks for all the things
I saw when you thought I wasn’t looking.

Published by

sallyjjones

Minor Canon Youth Chaplain at St Albans Cathedral. Dog owner, historian, technology geek, pilgrim.

Leave a Reply

