Linkin Park – What I’ve Done

Just getting round to putting my Mothers Union songs up. I’m including the lyrics, video, and the note I made from my reflections and their reflections. Hope they make sense and will help you.

 

Linkin Park are an American band who formed in 1996. The song we’re going to listen to is called ‘What I’ve Done’ which was released in 2007. It was also used as the main theme for the Transformers film. Ironies of humanity, and the ill effects we have on the world are the focus of the video. It juxtaposes various pieces of footage, for example a large well fed man eating fast food,  a woman measuring her waist and a man who is so malnourished that his rib cage is visible.

One of the band say the song is about “admitting to your faults of the past and kind of accepting it and moving on and trying to become something better”.

In this farewell
There’s no blood
There’s no alibi
Cause I’ve drawn regret
From the truth
Of a thousand lies

So let mercy come
And wash away

What I’ve done
I’ll face myself
To cross out what I’ve become
Erase myself
And let go of what I’ve done

Put to rest
What you thought of me
While I clean this slate
With the hands
Of uncertainty

So let mercy come
And wash away

What I’ve done
I’ll face myself
To cross out what I’ve become
Erase myself
And let go of what I’ve done

For All I’ve done
I’ll start again
And whatever pain may come
Today this ends
I’m forgiving what I’ve done

I’ll face myself
To cross out what I’ve become
Erase myself
And let go of what I’ve done

(Na-na na na)
(Na-na na na)
(Na-na na na)
What I’ve done
(Na-na na na)

(Na-na na na)
(Na-na na na)
(Na-na na na)
Forgiving what I`ve done
(Na-na na na)

(Na-na na na)
(Na-na na na)
(Na-na na na)
(Na-na na)

 

Mercy, reconciliation, politics, sin, repentance, regret.

‘So let mercy come, and wash away’ – baptism reference?

Question over title, ‘What I’ve Done’ is it talking about us individually or the whole of humanity?

God’s forgiveness – our need to move beyond our guilt.
Needing to face issues before we can move beyond them.

Bible – 1 John 1:9 ‘If we confess our sins, he who is faithful and just will forgive us our sins and cleans us from all unrighteousness.

Isaiah 1:18 Come now, let us argue it out says The Lord: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be like snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.

 

Published by

sallyjjones

Minor Canon Youth Chaplain at St Albans Cathedral. Dog owner, historian, technology geek, pilgrim.

One thought on “Linkin Park – What I’ve Done”

Leave a Reply

