Mothers’ Union talk – finding the sacred in secular music

MU_LOGO-rgb-1A few weeks back I did an afternoon for the Mothers’ Union. It was meant to be a ‘Quiet Afternoon’ for three local groups coming together, but I failed on the quiet point. It was my first event for the Mothers’ Union, the group in the parish always meets on a Friday which is usually my day off, and my previous incumbent was an active member as well as our lay reader, so there was little need for me to get involved.

I struggled to come up with a theme for the afternoon, the woman in charge of my local group told me, We don’t like silence, but we don’t like too much taking or discussion. People have done things where we have to move around, and we don’t like that…..but…we don’t like saying still on those hard chairs.’ Another member asked me ‘please…just do something different’.

So after much thought and prayer I decided to stick with something I know about, music. So I got videos for 4 pieces of music that all been popular in the last few years. I also tried to pick different genres so there might be something they all like….???

The most popular comment I got at the end was that they were ‘shaken’. I have to admit, I have never been more proud of feedback in my life. I SHOOK the Mothers’ Union.

I’ll need to do this in different parts because WordPress will only allow me to include one video per post.

__________________________________

This afternoon we will be looking at images of Christ in the secular world, in particular God in popular music which either talks about the artists faith, or could be used in worship but have also been huge hits.

We often despair with the younger generations we see around us, their values and priorities often seem so alien and to many it seems like they even speak a foreign language.

The church is (as we all know) very good at childrens work, but when they get to teenagers and young adults, they seem to drift away and disappear. We are in the 2nd, 3rd or sometimes 4th generation who have not been involved in church.

But not is all lost!!

There are still many places where Christ can be found. Christ is still present in many places where the church is not.

If we can be aware of where Christ is speaking, then we have a greater opportunity of meeting people where they are.

so that in every way they will make the teaching about God our Saviour attractive.” Titus 2.10

And maybe these can inspire us in our own faith, and in passing it on from generations to generation…

Song 1 – Linkin Park ‘What I’ve Done’ (2007)

Post can be found here.

 

Themes- repentance, confession, redemption, salvation, forgiveness, baptism, politics, environment, regret

 

 

kanyejesuswalksSong 2 – Kayne West ‘Jesus Walks’ (2004)

 

Post can be found here

Themes – personal faith, difficulties in life, pleading to God, Jesus is with us all – regardless of what we do.

 

 

 

Song 3 – Mumford & Sons ‘Below my Feet’ (2012)babel mumford

Click for video with lyrics (there is no official video for this song)

Themes – death, loss, hope, finding comfort, remaining grounded, keeping on track

 

 

 

 

Swedish-House-Mafia-hd-wallpaper-studio-shot-portrait1Song 4 – Swedish House Mafia ‘Don’t you worry child’

Post can be found here

Themes – do not worry, plans of God.

 

 

Published by

sallyjjones

Minor Canon Youth Chaplain at St Albans Cathedral. Dog owner, historian, technology geek, pilgrim.

Leave a Reply

