The Church and Online Media 2

Just an update from my post last month. The first day of this course unfortunately had to be cancelled due to the snow. We therefore have the first course coming up this Saturday. I was disappointed (of course) but I have acquired new books and resources since then, and I’ve been able to have some good conversations with those interested, but confused by social media, and so now I think I have a better understanding of what some of the ghoulies which surround this topic for some of the older generations. Its a different way of thinking, which I think is going to be difficult to get across to some people, but I enjoy a challenge. The bottom line from my point of view is that if the church stand any chance of reaching the younger generations we need to keep up (if we can’t be ahead) of the language and means of communication. The church was so quick to acknowledge the great opportunity and advantage that came with the printing press, but we have been so slow with digital communication. So I am determined to bang this drum and bring people along side with me bring the church into the 21st century and to use the tools readably available for the spreading of the gospel to our current and future generations, for the sake of the Kingdom, for the sake of Christ.

Oh, and as a p.s. an extra date has been added so there will be a course on the 2nd March.

Published by

sallyjjones

Minor Canon Youth Chaplain at St Albans Cathedral. Dog owner, historian, technology geek, pilgrim.

One thought on “The Church and Online Media 2”

Leave a Reply

