23rd Spetember: Baptism Sermon

I decided to talk about the importance of asking questions.

No matter how many questions I asked, I would never know everything about you. For you to know anything about me, you would have to ask me questions. But what would happen if I answered in riddles? Or answered using all the longest words I could find out of a thesaurus? You probably wouldn’t understand what I was trying to tell you. You wouldn’t know what I wanted you to know.

This is how the disciples felt in today’s passage from the gospel according to Mark (9.30-37), Jesus had been telling them that people who hated him would come and get him, and they would kill him. But this would not be the end, he would raise again.

The disciples were really confused and didn’t understand what he was telling them. But rather then ask him, they argued among themselves. They were too scared to ask him.

Once they were settled for the night, Jesus gathered the twelve together,

36 He took a little child whom he placed among them. Taking the child in his arms, he said to them, 37 “Whoever welcomes one of these little children in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me does not welcome me but the one who sent me.”

The disciples didn’t ask the questions they wanted to ask, but instead of Jesus telling them off, he reminded them that all are welcome to come to him, all are welcome to come and ask the questions they need to ask, all are welcome, just as they are.

This is something we need to remember, that just because we are baptised does not mean we have all the answers, we all have questions, and we all need to grow in our faith. We do not magically learn stuff, we learn through asking questions, and we should never not ask.

Published by

sallyjjones

Minor Canon Youth Chaplain at St Albans Cathedral. Dog owner, historian, technology geek, pilgrim.

Leave a Reply

